Weekend Away Planning

I’m heading on a road trip to southern California this weekend because The Boyfriend’s brother is graduating from college. We’re staying with a friend down there and like any ‘vacation’ will probably be eating out most of the time. We’re leaving today after work so I took it upon myself to get us some healthier options to snack on and eat during the weekend to avoid buying junk the whole time.
The goods I bought:
  • Whole Natural Almonds – I LOVE almonds and they were on sale. That’s pretty much a must buy in my book
  • Whole Grain Goldfish – I know, not the healthiest of snack choices but I LOVE these things. So cheesy and good. Plus I can eat about 55 (1 serving) of them and not feel too bad
  • Carrot chips – my intention on buying these was to pair it with some hummus but Target was hating on me today and didn’t have any of my favorite Sabra Roasted Red Pepper Hummus
  • Bananas – pretty much a staple for me. So easy to throw in a bag and carry with me to curve any hunger pains throughout the day.
  • Various Bars – I grabbed a few options because they are a quick go to for snacks or an easy breakfast. Somehow on all the trips I go on breakfast always seem to get the axe and my body doesn’t like that one bit.
  • Water – Saw it near the checkout line and thought you can never have enough water so I tossed one in. Since it’s the only thing I usually drink might as well have some back up for my reusable water bottle.
  • Ghirardelli Bar – It was on sale and let’s be real a whole weekend without a morsel of chocolate is simply unacceptable. Plus The Boyfriend will probably steal a majority of it
Things I might bring: 
  • Fruit/Veggies – I haven’t bought groceries in the last week so I could get rid of stuff. So whatever I have left that is eatable raw will go in the bag as well. Probably a few oranges, an apple and some broccoli maybe.

Anyone that knows me knows I’m not big on eating out. I’d much rather make my own meals and eat at home. One because I know exactly what I’m eating, can make it to my liking; it’s healthier and saves money. This is what has worked for me in my road to health journey and continues to work.

Vacations always take me out of my element a bit when it comes to eating habits. I don’t eat at the same time or have access to my kitchen. I try to make smart, delicious decisions and for the few bad ones I see I usually can steal off The Boyfriends plate a bite or two. Shhh don’t tell him, I do it when he’s not looking.
For the most part I’m happy with some oatmeal/cereal and fruit for breakfast, a sandwich or salad for lunch, a lean meat and veggie sides for dinner and of course the one or two fro yo visits during the weekend. Not to terrible when you consider all the walking that inevitably happens on vacations. I always walk SO much. I may try and fit a run or two in but I always feel a little out of whack in places I’m not familiar with. So we’ll see how it goes and I’ll fill you in on it when I get back.
Wish me luck. Everyone have a fantastic Memorial Day weekend. Enjoy and be safe!
About Jillian

I'm Jillian. A 26-year-old living in San Francisco, CA. Follow me on my road to health, happiness and much more! www.bitesofbalance.com

Posted on May 26, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Robert and Anna

    If you need a designated Chocolate Eater; count me in! Are those dried carrot chips?

