Weekend Get Away

This weekend The Boyfriend’s brother graduated from Long Beach State. We drove down to Southern California after work on Thursday. It took up about 7 hours because of the ridiculous traffic in Bay Area. After we got out of the Bay Area it was a breeze down highway 5. We stopped about 3 times because The Boyfriend has a small bladder likes to stretch his legs. Upon our arrival at our friend’s house, where we would be staying the weekend, I passed out until the point of my annoying alarm at 6:30 am.

 

Who plans a graduation at 9am? Rude. I only got a few hours of sleep so coffee was definitely in order. For anyone that’s been to Southern California you know Starbucks are not hard to find. I crawled walked in ordered an unsweetened coffee in a gallon jug and a Spinach Feta wrap thingy. It was pretty good for a quick breakfast and was surprisingly filling.
Skipping to after the graduation since I didn’t take any pictures. Bad blogger over here. We headed back to The Boyfriend’s parents hotel where they had lunch planned. I ordered a DELICIOUS veggie sandwich. Great choice might I add. It had squash, zucchini, portabello, a few veggies I forgot and a delicious spread (red pesto, and goat cheese).

 

The rest of the weekend was pretty uneventful besides 2 things. The fro yo motherland and The Yardhouse. Can I tell you I died and went to fro yo heaven? Seriously there were like 2 million different fro yo choices. And yes I tested just about every flavor before putting about 5 different ones in my cup. Yogurtland was the happiest place on earth. Disneyland clearly is a liar. And yes we went both Friday and Saturday. What can I say, I’m addicted.
 Like my sideways view? Trying to distract you from all the cookie on top. Did it work?

 

The Yardhouse was a delicious dinner that we took our lovely host to to thank her for her hospitality all weekend. For those of you who don’t know there are over 100 beers on tap which led to a very overwhelmed Boyfriend who is a beer lover. After sending the waitress away 300 times once we finally ordered. I got a Cuban style pork sandwich that can with a BBQ au jus sauce with a side salad with the BEST restaurant balsamic vinaigrette I’ve had. Oh and did I mention the truffle fries the three of us shared. I may or may not be guilty of having a handful or 5 of these. SO GOOD. Best meal of the trip.

 

We headed back to San Francisco and I decided I hate driving on 5. It’s long and boring. Yesterday to force myself out of bed The Boyfriend persuaded me to go to The Academy of Science. I obliged one because it’s awesome, two because it was free since he’s a member. If you ever get the chance to go there you should. The planetarium show is always good, the penguins are adorable and the living roof is awesome.

I think I’ve rambled enough. I hope everyone had a great weekend!

About Jillian

I'm Jillian. A 26-year-old living in San Francisco, CA. Follow me on my road to health, happiness and much more! www.bitesofbalance.com

Posted on May 31, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I don't have a small bladder!

