Healthier General Tso’s Chicken

I saw this recipe on Kitchen Simplicity and had to try it. I like Chinese food but can rarely eat it since it’s so greasy. Grease and my stomach do NOT get along. This recipe was easy, and SO good. It had just the right amount of spice, flavor and was not greasy tasting at all.

Healthier General Tso’s Chicken

For the sauce: 

  • 1 tbs Cornstarch
  • 1/2 cup water
  • Snow peas (use as much as you have, I had a handful or two so I used them all) – I like the crunch they add
  • 2 tsp Minced garlic (I used the pre-minced stuff and it was great!)
  • 2 tsp Ginger (again, since I’m lazy I used ground ginger)
  • 3 tbs brown sugar
  • 2 tbs Soy Sauce
  • 1/2 tsp Red Pepper Flakes (use less if you are sensitive to spice, more if you like it extra spicy)

 Directions for sauce:

  1. Mix together the water and cornstarch
  2. Mix in all other ingredients
  3. Set aside for later use

Chicken

  • 2 Egg Whites
  • 3 tbs Cornstarch
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • Pepper to taste
  • 1 lb Chicken cut

 Directions:
Clean and wash chicken.

Cut into bite size pieces

Mix together egg whites, cornstarch, salt and pepper

Mix in chicken

 
Heat skillet to medium heat with a little olive oil to coat the bottom
Add the chicken to the pan (you may need to do this twice if you have a small pan). I covered mine just to guarantee the chicken not only browned but also that it was full cooked. I don’t want no salmonella.
Cook chicken till fully cooked and golden brown on the outside. Remove chicken from pan and rest on paper towels to remove any excess oil.

Using the same pan add the sauce you set aside earlier. Throw in snow peas that are rinsed and cut in half. Once peas are tender and sauce has thickened add chicken back in. 
Toss to coat chicken and remove from heat. Serve and enjoy! 

I served mine with brown rice and broccoli which were both delicious with this meal. This will definitely be a meal I make again. It was SO tasty! I’ll be testing leftovers on The Boyfriend tonight.

Yes my rice maker made the camera fog with all it’s hot goodness.
Posted on June 26, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Healthier General Tso’s Chicken.

Comments are closed.

