It’s Moving Day…


I moved this past weekend, which was quite the adventure. I moved from an apartment with 2 friends from college with one flight of stairs to an apartment with The Boyfriend that had three flights of stairs. Yes, three flights of stairs. Needless to say that was A LOT of fun. Not really, but let’s pretend it was. We eventually got everything in our living room to be stared at for days unpacked. We had the help of some good friends who we filled them with beer and pizza in return.
Everyone should be happy to know we did not eat out our first dinner in our new place. I made a family recipe of Mac & Cheese with a spinach salad. You’ll be disappointed to know that my camera died and I couldn’t locate my charger so there are few pictures. Please don’t throw tomatoes; I’m not a fan of them. IPhone to the rescue!

Let me tell you that this family recipe is NOT healthy by any means. I mean when my aunt made it she used probably 2-3 sticks of butter. No joke, entire sticks. I however wanted to put my ‘healthier’ twist on a family favorite. I assure you it’s just as delicious and your pants will still fit the next day. Woo hoo!
Family Mac & Cheese Made Healthier
Ingredients:
  • 1 Package of Whole Wheat Sea Shell or Elbow Noodles
  • 3-4 Cups of Sharp Cheddar Cheese (depends on how cheesy you like it)
  • 3/4 Cup of milk (or more depending on size of dish)
  • 2-3 Tbs of butter or margarine (I use very little but feel free to use more)
  • Cooking Spray
Directions:
  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Cook noodles to package instructions.
  3. Place a layer of noodles in the bottom of your ‘greased’ baking dish.
  4. Place a few small pieces of butter or margarine spread out on top of the noodles.
  5. Cover the noodles with cheddar cheese.
  6. Repeat for another layer.
  7. Pour milk directly into dish. If you are using a Pyrex (or other see through dish) I generally eyeball it and fill it about a 1/4 – 1/2 of the way up the side.
  8. Place in oven for about 20-30 minutes or until cheese on top is melted and slightly browning.
  9. Serve and enjoy!
I served it with a simple spinach salad which complimented it nicely. I’m sure broccoli would be delicious as well. The Boyfriend is not a fan of Mac & Cheese but enjoys this dish. This makes enough to feed a small army so either be prepared for left overs or do it on days you have friends over. Sometimes the second day is even better because it’s all cheesy and gooey goodness.  
And did I mention we have the nicest new downstairs neighbors. They are an adorable married couple that brought us cookies our first night and welcomed us to the building. Isn’t that nice? So you know I may have eaten a few bites of one of these. Yum. 
Question of the Day:
Do you have any family recipes that you love but wish you could make healthier? Have you tried to make them healthier? Was it successful?
Posted on July 22, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on It’s Moving Day….

Comments are closed.

