Chicken Cordon Bleu Healthy Style

We’ve been tackling our box filled living room every night this week. You’ll be relieved to know that the first thing I got in order after the kitchen was my closet. A girl has her priorities. The Boyfriend gave me the bigger closet and I may or may not have filled it already… oops. Does that mean I can’t buy new clothes or shoes? Yeah right! I will find a place. Haha. 

This was a recipe I made after a few nights of eating leftovers in the new house. The Boyfriend was quite the fan of it. He went back for seconds. I’ve seen many variations of Chicken Cordon Bleu and decided to put a twist on it myself to make it a little healthier. 
Chicken Cordon Bleu Healthy Style
I couldn’t wait to take a picture before I dug in. Ooops. 
 
Ingredients:
  • 2 triangles of Laughing Cow Swiss Cheese
  • 2 Chicken Breasts (boneless and skinless)
  • 1 Egg
  • Thinly Cut Ham
  • Cooking Spray
  • Italian Seasoned Breadcrumbs 

Directions: 
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Beat the egg and set aside.
  3. Pour bread crumbs on a plate or in a bowl for dipping later. Set aside.
  4. If you’re like my deli you get two ginormous chicken breasts. Since I didn’t have the meat hammer thing I improvised and cut the breasts in half and then cut a slit in the middle of each half to stuff in my cheese and ham. 
  5. Apply half a triangle of cheese to each of the four halves of chicken in the slit you created. Or for those of you that aren’t living in a sea of boxes you can use the meat hammer thing and pound them thinner and add the cheese that way. 
  6. Lay a slice (or pieces) of ham on top of the cheese. 
  7. If you have a meat hammer you will need toothpicks to hold your rolled up thin chicken breast together. If you’re me you hope everything stays in the slit in the middle you created.
  8. Dip chicken in the beaten egg.
  9. Roll in the breadcrumbs until coated. 
  10. Place in a greased baking dish and place in the oven for about 45 minutes (depends on your oven). 
  11. Take out of oven, let it cool and serve! 
  Pardon my lack of baking wear. I’m ghetto. I had to order all new stuff since I had nothing. 

I served mine with smashed red potatoes and broccoli. This was easy, healthier and tasty. I definitely will be doing this one again. Sorry for lack of pictures in the middle. My hands were covered in egg and breadcrumbs.  
Question of the Day:
What is your experience with moving (good, bad, etc)? Any tips to get everything all situated, decorated and looking like a home? 
Any easy DIY things that really can add life to our new place?
Posted on July 23, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Chicken Cordon Bleu Healthy Style.

Comments are closed.

