Baked Lumpia

I have a bit Filipino in me and love some of the foods that were cooked for me when I was younger by my grandmother and mom. However, I’m not a fan of how things are fried or relatively unhealthy. So again I got my mind brewing with ideas of how to make a healthy twist on one of my favorites, Lumpia. Traditionally I have had it fried. Since limiting my intake of fried foods years ago my tummy has trouble with anything fried.
So here is my twist. I liked it and enjoyed it and ate leftovers for days. You may notice a few key ingredients missing. I don’t like onions so I won’t put green onions in here like my mom does. She insists you can’t taste them but I can. I also am not a huge fan of bean sprouts so I omitted those as well.
Baked Lumpia
Dipping Sauce Ingredients:
  • 1/2 Cup Low Sodium Soy Sauce
  • 1/2 Cup Vinegar
  • Garlic to taste
Directions:
  1. Mix everything is an air tight container.
  2. Put in refrigerator for an hour or more. * The longer you go the better the flavors mix
Lumpia Ingredients:
  • 1lb Ground Beef (I wanted to try ground chicken or turkey but wanted to see how it was baked first before I ventured even healthier)
  • 1 Package Egg Roll Wrappers – I use the big ones
  • Shredded Zucchini
  • Shredded Carrots
  • Cooking Spray
  • Soy Sauce (to taste)
Directions:
  1. Cook ground beef in a pot. Drain any excess juices and fat when it is completed. I generally add a pour or two of soy sauce, and some salt and pepper to the meat mixture for flavor.
  2. Fill a small container with water for finger dipping when rolling wrappers.
  3. Place foil on your cookie sheet and spray with cooking spray.
  4. Mix meat mixture (preferable after it’s cooled down a bit) with shredded carrots and zucchini
  5. Place about a tablespoon of the meat mixture to the center of the wrapper. Place more as needed.
  6. Dip your fingers in water and go along all edges of the wrapper as you roll your wraps up. I wrap them like a burrito so nothing falls out.
  7. Place them about a half inch away from each other on the cookie sheet.
  8. Spray the top with cooking spray (I use canola oil spray).
  9. Place in oven for 20-30 minutes or until brown.
  10. Take out and let cool.
  11. Dip in the dipping sauce and enjoy!
I realize everyone makes Lumpia different ways so this was my twist on how my family makes it. I told my mom about it and she wants to try it now.I served mine with half a serving of brown rice and heaping pile of steamed broccoli. They complimented the meal nicely.
Question of the Day:
What’s a favorite dish you ate as a child but don’t eat any longer? Why don’t you eat it anymore?
Posted on July 25, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Baked Lumpia.

Comments are closed.

