Tomato Meat Sauce (with a kick)

Last night was one of those nights where I didn’t want to go to the grocery store, but needed to come up with something good. Meat sauce!
Ingredients:
  • Ground turkey
  • Large can of crushed tomatoes
  • A few fresh tomatoes
  • Veggies (I used chopped kale and spinach)
  • Siracha
Yes, siracha. I was experimenting and it turned out so good!

Instructions:
Cook your ground turkey. Drain.
Add canned crushed tomatoes. I also used three tomatoes and crushed them in my vitamix (so fresh!). You could actually use all fresh tomatoes if you wanted, but I didn’t have enough for all that turkey.
Add as many veggies and as much siracha as you like and let simmer for at least an hour. If you wanted to make this sauce ahead of time, you could let cook in a crock pot for 3-5 hours. I didn’t have that kind of time πŸ˜‰
I served mine with whole wheat pasta and steamed broccoli. Let’s just say this was a hit and I will be making siracha-tomato-meat sauce again!

Posted on August 11, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Tomato Meat Sauce (with a kick).

Comments are closed.

