Lack of Motivation Buster

My workouts outside of my bootcamp and total body sculpting classes have been sub par. I’ve been really hard on myself about how they haven’t felt like the best I can do. At least I’m working out I would tell myself. I even found myself skipping workouts more than I have in the past 2 years.

Today I busted out of that lack of motivation and bad workout cycle. I had a GREAT workout that used simple moves I do all the time and threw a little kick into it. I was a sweaty mess afterwards and felt great! I now have a much more positive outlook and know I can still push myself and have great workouts. I’m not broken.

Bad Cycle Buster Workout

  • 2 minutes step ups (using a step, with risers under)
  • 2 minutes bicept curls
  • 2 minutes step ups
  • 2 minutes lunges (1 minute each side)
  • 2 minutes step ups
  • 2 minutes overhead press
  • 2 minutes step ups
  • 2 minutes dumbell squats
  • 2 minutes rest

***Repeat one more time

A few things to note. I started my workout with a 20 minute elliptical interval warm up and did 5 minutes of stretching after. I switched between 6 and 8lb weights depending on what I was doing. I also varied the step ups a little. Some I would lift my knees, some I would go faster, while others I would go at a normal walking up stairs pace. I tried to mix up the step ups just a little to push myself and not get bored. I also did shoulder presses as I did some of the step ups (about 3 sets of 1 minute each step up section.

I plan on changing this up with some different moves but doing the step ups in between in the future. Sorry for the lack of pictures, I’ve seem to have misplaced my camera. I’m tearing cleaning the apartment later to see if I can locate it.

Posted on August 31, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Good for you for pushing through the lackluster workouts and having such a great one! It just shows that we are totally capable of good workouts if we set our minds to it!

  2. love the name of your workout. good job! try not to be too hard on yourself. life happens and we bounce back 🙂

