Gnocchi for the WIN!

Darren LOVES gnocchi and I think it’s pretty tasty so every once in a while I try to make it. Usually it’s a pretty boring pasta sauce or pesto and those little gnocchi bites. I decided to mix it up and try something new and man was it good. It was so full of flavor and smelled divine!

No Pasta Sauce Gnocchi

Ingredients: 

  • 1 package gnocchi (I used spinach, tomato, regular mixture)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil (separated) 
  • 1/4 cup of the water you cooked the gnocchi in
  • 3 sausage links (I used chicken garlic, Parmesan ones from Trader Joe’s)  – I chopped it up into bite size pieces.
  • 2 garlic cloves (minced) 
  • Lots of baby spinach ( I did 3 or 4 big handfuls)
  • 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese

Directions: 

  1. Cook gnocchi to package instructions.  
  2. Set aside 1/4 cup of the water the gnocchi was cooked in. Drain remainder of water.
  3. Heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil in a large skillet. 
  4. Add sausage and garlic. Saute until cooked.
  5. Add in baby spinach and toss around until the spinach is wilted. 
  6. Add cooked and drained gnocchi. Top with Parmesan cheese, tablespoon of olive oil and the gnocchi water. 
  7. Mix it all up and enjoy the great smells!

This was so quick and easy and tasted fantastic!!! Try it! Try it!

Posted on September 14, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I want to make gnocchi so badly! But my mother is sort of against it. I'm not one to go against my mom too often so I haven't made it yet. Your recipe looks so so so good! Thanks for posting so I can steal it. 😉

