Enchilada Extravaganza

So like promised I made something edible (and blogable) last night. I think my lack of actual cooking guilt got to me and I was determined to make something tasty. Searching in the cabinet and regriderator I discovered I had all the goods to make Chicken Enchiladas.

While they may be a little messy they are relatively easy and re-heat GREAT. I was sold. I busted out the ingredients and went to town.

Easy Chicken Enchilada’s
Makes about 10

Ingredients:

  • 3 Chicken breasts (boneless and skinless)
  • 1 Jar (or can) of enchilada sauce
  • 1-2 cups of cheese (depends on how cheesy you want them)
  • Corn tortillas
  • Optional throw ins – sliced olives, black beans, corn, etc.

Directions: 

  1.  Preheat over to 350 degrees
  2. Boil the chicken for 30-45 mins (until done)
  3. While chicken is boiling get the rest of the ingredients prepared. Placing everything in a bowl makes it a lot easier to grab handfuls when your hands are a mess
  4. Slice chicken (or shred) into small bite size pieces and place in a bowl
  5. Heat your corn tortillas up for about a minute or until softer and more manageable
  6. Pour enough enchilada sauce on a plate (large enough for tortilla to sit) and dip one corn tortilla in the sauce on both sides
  7. Place tortilla in baking dish and fill with small handfuls of ingredients. For these ones I did chicken, then cheese, and ended with sliced black olives
  8. Roll up the tortilla (with fillings). I find putting the crease at the bottom helps these to stay together
  9. Repeat until all ingredients gone (minus the enchilada sauce)
  10. Pour the remainder of the enchilada sauce over the top of all the rolled enchiladas. I also like to sprinkle a little of the cheese if there is some left over
  11. Place in oven and bake 15-20 minutes. You do not want to overcook or the tortillas will be hard and dry. They simply need to be warmed up because the chicken is already cooked
  12. Take out and serve warm

I served them with some corn, carrots and a little Spanish rice. They are boyfriend approved which has to count for something right? I mean he’s the worlds pickiest eater…

Posted on October 6, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Enchilada Extravaganza.

Comments are closed.

