Sweet Dumpling Squash with Couscous and Chicken

So, it’s definitely feeling like Fall over here in San Francisco. It’s been raining the last few days (which I find incredibly relaxing). Anyway, back to squash…


Squash is relatively new to my kitchen. I never really made it until this year, but I am so happy I started cooking it. I was at the store a few days ago and picked up what I believe is called sweet dumpling squash (correct me if I am wrong here). They are so cute and look like a squash “bowl” that you could easily stuff.


To bake the squash:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. While that’s heating up, cut your little squash in half and scoop out the seeds. Fill your baking dish with about an inch of water and turn the squash face down.

Bake for 45 minutes, or until tender.


After my squash was done I seasoned it with a little salt and pepper and was good to go!

I served this with baked chicken, couscous stopped with goat cheese & pistachios, and steamed carrots, but really you could serve this with anything. Next time I want to stuff it with something yummy like quinoa or rice and ground turkey.

ps, sorry for the awful pictures. I was hungry and my iPhone doesn’t always take the best photos 😉

Posted on October 10, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Sweet Dumpling Squash with Couscous and Chicken.

Comments are closed.

