Hot and Cold

The weather has been crazy lately. One day it will be warm and the next rain. I’m very confused by it. Since it was raining, and I was tired after my nightly workout I opted for an easy and warming food choice. Chicken noodle soup! It always hits the spot.

Ignore the fact that I spilled on the outside of the tumbler. I’m clumsy sometimes.

What better way to eat soup than in a tumbler. This beauty was sent to me as part of the Foodbuzz Tastemaster program from Tervis. I was so impressed by this tumbler and the fact that I couldn’t feel the heat of the soup that was piping hot straight from the pot. There was no condensation or yucky ring of water on my table when I set it down. Lucky for me I decided it was a good idea to blow on my spoonfuls because the tumbler was deceiving me of the heat of my soup.

Darn iPhone couldn’t capture the steam coming from the tumbler.

I love the tumbler but would love it even more if it had a lid. It would make it much easier to transport cold and hot food to and from the office. It would make transporting my smoothies to drink in hell traffic excellent. I do like the fact that it keeps things hot and cold things cold. It’s like a 2 for 1 deal. And we all know I love myself a good deal.

If you’ve been reading lately you know I have a addiction love of pumpkin. I think I’ve thrown pumpkin in just about everything possible lately. Oatmeal, bread, cookies, pancakes and much more. But these bad boys below take the cake. They are SO good. Lucky for my hips I was kind enough to give away the majority to friends and family and only scarfed down 1 or 2. Pheww.

As a side note these are said to be donut holes in the original recipe. Mine however were more like mini muffins because my kitchen lacks a mini muffin tin or donut holders. Ooops. But just because they are oddly shaped and not the prettiest doesn’t mean they don’t melt in your mouth and make you want to eat the whole plate!

Pumpkin Donut Holes
From: The Craving Chronicles

Get in my bellay!

Ingredients:

  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoons nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon allspice
  • 1/8 teaspoons ground cloves
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup canned plain pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling)
  • 1/2 cup low-fat milk

Coating

  • 1 stick of unsalted butter, melted
  • 2/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 tablespoons cinnamon

Directions: 

  1. Preheat the over to 350° F.
  2. Spray with cooking spray whatever surface you will be placing these on in the oven. I used a cookie sheet. 
  3. In a bowl whisk together the dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, and ground cloves). Set aside.
  4. In another bowl mix together your ‘wet’ ingredients (vegetable oil, brown sugar, egg, vanilla, pumpkin and milk).
  5. Add the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients bowl. Mix until combined.
  6. Roll small amounts of the batter into balls and place on cookie sheet.
  7. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until your toothpick comes out clean.
  8. While those are cooking in another bowl melt 1 stick of butter and have another bowl handy with 2/3 cup of sugar and 2 tablespoons cinnamon mixed together.
  9. When donut holes are finished cooking let them cool until they are cool enough to handle.
  10. Dip each into the melted butter bowl then roll in the cinnamon sugar mixture till coated. Shake off any excess.
  11. These are best eaten right away (especially still a little warm). Enjoy!
Sometimes Every time I cook my kitchen looks like a tornado hit it.

I’m not a huge donut lover or overly sweet breakfasts but I grabbed one of these with my scrambled eggs fresh from the oven and moaned in delicious joy. They are that good.

About Jillian

I'm Jillian. A 26-year-old living in San Francisco, CA. Follow me on my road to health, happiness and much more! www.bitesofbalance.com

Posted on October 13, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Hot and Cold.

Comments are closed.

