Easiest Pasta Bake EVER

I’ve had a runny nose all weekend and the beginning of this week. I don’t feel sick at all but this thing will NOT stop running. I’ve went through an entire box of tissue at this point. It’s ridiculous. Will this madness ever end?

I played it safe this weekend and spared my friends at good ole’ Bally’s the opportunity to catch whatever is torturing me. I skipped the gym and walked to the Farmer’s Market on Sunday instead. I nabbed 2 bags of almond and Darren picked up some grass fed beef. I love almonds and we got a raw bag and a butterscotch toffee one. TO DIE FOR. Seriously so good. I only need a few and my sweet tooth is cured. If you see these anywhere I insist you purchase them! If you don’t like them send them my way. I’m sure I’ll find something to do with them. 😉

Newman’s Own sent me some goodies in conjunction with the Foodbuzz Tastemaster Program. I got some pasta sauces, salad dressings and a pizza. I’m a sucker for anything Italian. I mean I almost studied abroad there folks! I love that I recognize pretty much everything on the label of the pasta sauces too. It makes me feel much more comfortable eating things where I can actually pronounce what they are.

When I got this glorious box I instantly knew what I had to make with one of the pasta sauces. I concocted this creation a few years ago and I swear it is one of the easiest (and cheapest) meals you can make to feed quite a few people.

You can throw anything you like in here. I’ve tried broccoli, carrots, and much more. I had a few things on hand I thought would be perfect. I

Easiest Pasta Bake EVER

Ingredients: 

  • Newman’s Own Roasted Garlic Pasta Sauce
  • Chicken Italian Sausage (you can use pork if you like)
  • Penne (I used the whole grain Barilla)
  • 1 Medium – Large zucchini

Directions: 

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Break/cut sausage into bite size pieces and cook until thoroughly cooked.
  3. Cook Penne to box directions, drain and set aside.
  4. Chop zucchini in as small of pieces that you like. If you have kids and want to hide them, the smaller the better. I cut mine in half circles because I love zucchini.
  5. In a baking dish pour penne, zucchini, and sausage into the dish.
  6. Pour entire jar of pasta sauce over the top and mix until everything is coated.
  7. I like to add a little shredded mozzarella to the top before I throw it in the oven.
  8. Bake for 10-15 minutes or until cheese is melted. This step is to cook the zucchini and heat the pasta sauce. Depending on your oven it may take more or less time.

I served it up with a piece of garlic toast, salad and sprinkled a little shaved Parmesan on top for good measure. Start to finish it was about 30 minutes. Piece of cake and makes enough to feed a small army.

Pardon the paper plate. We are having plumbing issues in our apartment which makes doing dishes VERY difficult. It’s ANNOYING!
 ** Disclaimer: One or more items in this post were sent to the blogger to review. These are my own, honest opinions of the products regardless of how I acquired them. **
About Jillian

I'm Jillian. A 26-year-old living in San Francisco, CA. Follow me on my road to health, happiness and much more! www.bitesofbalance.com

Posted on October 26, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Easiest Pasta Bake EVER.

Comments are closed.

