Sometimes it’s not pretty but it sure tastes good!

This weekend and week thus far has been a whirlwind of craziness. I transformed magically into Wilma Flintstone, had a lot few too many adult beverages, made a trip to Costco without buying anything and made a delicious stew/soup that looks like poo. I swear it’s delicious tasting but it’s not the prettiest dish I’ve ever made. See below to know what I’m talking about. I even convinced Darren to eat it (he liked it!) which is a feat all on its own.

This is at the end of the night, that should explain a lot...

The FoodBuzz Festival is this weekend! Myself and Anna are both going for the first time and we’re super excited to see some familiar faces and meet a TON of new bloggers. If you’re going let us know, we’d LOVE to meet up. We’re native San Franciscans in the sense that we live here, not that we know how to get everywhere exactly. 😛 This city is confusing, I can’t deny that. We can at least  pretend we know where we’re going and take you around to some places we like in the city.

Chicken Lentil Soup

Adapted From: Skinny Taste

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb dried lentils
  • 3 boneless and skinless chicken breasts
  • 2 chicken bullion cubes
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 3 teaspoons minced garlic (lazy me likes the already minced jars)
  • 1 tomato
  • 8 cups water

Directions:

  1. In a pot combine lentils, chicken, water and chicken bullion.
  2. Boil, covered until chicken is cooked. Mine took 20 or so minutes.
  3. Remove chicken and chop or shred into bite size pieces and return to pot.
  4. Mix the the spices in a bowl. Set aside.
  5. In a food processor (you can chop I suppose). Combine tomatoes and garlic.
  6. Add the spice mixture and tomato/garlic mixture to the lentils and chicken and cook about 15-20 more minutes. You want the lentils to be soft.
  7. Serve and enjoy! I served with corn bread and fresh steamed veggies.

I wasn’t able to find the seasoning Gina recommended so I used Google to see if there were any homemade concoctions that were similar. I added chili powder just because I thought it was a good idea. It was! It added a nice flavor that I really loved. This smelled and tasted so good. I ate leftovers for days! I apologize for my lack of a good picture. I was much too busy hosting a friend and devouring my bowl full. This is a picture of leftovers I brought from work. It’s not pretty AT ALL. But mmmmm, I will be making this again soon. Perfect Fall/Winter comfort food for cold days.

About Jillian

I'm Jillian. A 26-year-old living in San Francisco, CA. Follow me on my road to health, happiness and much more! www.bitesofbalance.com

Posted on November 2, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Sometimes it’s not pretty but it sure tastes good!.

Comments are closed.

