Foodbuzz Fun – Day 2

Did you catch Anna’s recap of day one of Foodbuzz? If not head on over there!I think it’s safe to say that food is the LAST thing on my mind today or ever again. While we had a ton of fun on Day One, Day Two held a full day of Foodbuzz activities.   Of course we ate. It’s a food blogger get together so there was a lot of food – good food.
I woke up bright and early to meet Anna at her place because Federated Media is strategically placed two blocks from her house. Which was nice throughout the weekend because her very nice husband, Robert, was our official chauffeur. It was greatly appreciated since we didn’t have to walk in the VERY cold SF weather.

Breakfast is Served

We got to Federated Media and were greeted with quite the breakfast display. There were many frittatas, yogurt, various baked goods, fruit and Ritual Coffee! Darren LOVES Ritual coffee, it’s his favorite, so of course me and Anna HAD to send him pictures. He was jealous naturally. We started the morning sessions off with the featured blogger panel about taking our blog to the next level. We learned a lot about being ourselves, and connecting with readers from Peas and Thank You, Kath Eats Real Food, Joy the Baker, How Sweet It Is, and Shutterbean. All had fantastic advice. Mama Pea had dough balls and I’m sad I didn’t get to try one. Next time!

Next we headed to Blog Design Bootcamp led by The Tomato Tart and The Cuisinerd. These ladies were not only funny but had lots of great advice and examples. We have a lot of work to do here at Cubicle Chronicles but we’re excited to make it the best it can be and utilize many of the tips the ladies shared with us. Next up was Effective Social NETworking with Bravetart and Norecipes. We need to step up our Twitter game and start connecting with other bloggers and readers and we’re up to the challenge. Look for a lot of new and exciting things to come here on Cubicle Chronicles.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After a brief detour to meet our chauffeur we were on our way to the Metreon for the tasting pavilion. HOLY food and drink overload. I really should have worn yoga pants because boy oh boy was there so many delicious things to sample. Many of the companies were local, which was a huge thing for me. I hate finding a new company I love and I can’t get any of their stuff because it’s too far away or the shipping is out of this world expensive. I loved that many of them were right in my back yard. I tried so many things and was stuffed at the end. Here are a few of the places I LOVED and spent time talking to the employees at the booths.

21st Amendment – Great beers, and very friendly staff. I’ve tried just about everyone of them and am not disappointed by any.

Three Twins Ice Cream –  Organic ice cream that was so tasty and creamy!

Oren’s Kitchen – I tried all four nuts they had and they were all delicious. I especially liked the cashews. Mmmm.

Bison Brewing – Organic beer! The Chocolate Stout and Gingerbread Ale flavor were both great! The staff was also very friendly and gave us a ton of info.

Hottie Biscotti – So good! I’m not usually a fan of biscotti but the texture was perfect and the flavors were great.

Alexia Foods – I LOVE their sweet potato fries and enjoyed the new tater tots. Mmm. Plus their set up was way nice.

18 Rabbits – So excited to try their bars. Cherry and chocolate together are a win in my book.

479 Popcorn – OMG delicious! I love the Ginger Sesame Caramel.

Australian Lamb – hands down the best thing I tried. The Lamb Filo Cigar was SO tasty. I could use another right now.

Cold fries....

J Lee Roys – The guys were SO nice. Not only did I get to try their sauces they gave me a huge bottle of the dipping sauce AND rub to take home for Darren to try. It’s delicious with a bit of a kick which I’m a fan of.

After a few hours or lounging around and hoping my stomach found some way to fit more food we headed to the dinner gala and cooking demonstration by Tyler Florence. When we got there we were greeted with a glass of wine or four and the finalists for the Alexia ‘Reinvent a Classic’ contest. I was excited because I generally like Alexia products. I was sorely disappointed. The fries were dry, had no flavor and tasted like they’d been under the heat lamps for 3 days. So I had another glass of wine instead and hopped for better food during the dinner.

Anna and Myself at the dinner

We went into the ballroom for the Tyler Florence demonstration. It was great! The meal he cooked not only looked easy but had only a few ingredients. You know both me and Anna LOVE easy, few ingredient meals we can make. His Pork Chops looked delicious. Unfortunately, we weren’t able to try them. It was a major bummer. During his demonstration the table was given passed appetizers. Again disappointment struck me. They were cold and not all that good. Major bummer.

Don’t his pork chops look good! I took a picture of the screen….oops

Delish salad

After the demonstration came out the salad. This may have been the only saving grace of the meal thus far. The cheese on this bad boy was SOOOOO good. I could have sat there and just ate a block of it and been a happy girl. Next up was the fillet Mignon and prawns. The food was decent for hotel standards but didn’t hold a candle to the delicious eats we got the previous night. I expected something much greater especially with who was in attendance. Foodies! Many of these people know food, good food. We had a great group of ladies at our table which definitley helped pick up the mood of the lack luster food. Kath Eats Real Food, The Healthy Hostess, Taking Back My Twenties, Pancakes and Postcards, The Granola Chronicles, and Cate’s World Kitchen were the best table mates!

Meh entree

Next up was dessert. This and the salad were the best by far. The Cowgirl Creamery cheesecake and the Scharffen Berger Chocolate Mousse were excellent. The bread pudding needed to be cut with a knife it was so hard and cold. Not a fan.

We weren’t able to make it to the brunch on Sunday so the dinner gala ended our Foodbuzz weekend. I don’t think I’ve ever ate so much good food in one weekend or had the opportunity to meet so many friendly and interesting bloggers. I can’t wait until the next blogger meet up. Bay Area bloggers I’m looking at you! 😛

About Jillian

I'm Jillian. A 26-year-old living in San Francisco, CA. Follow me on my road to health, happiness and much more! www.bitesofbalance.com

Posted on November 9, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Foodbuzz Fun – Day 2.

Comments are closed.

