A Little Creativity and Running Never Hurt Anyone

After recovering from my crazy weekend of Foodbuzz Fest I’ve been busy catching up on weekend chores I usually do. Can I confess that my hamper is literally overflowing with dirty clothes. It sucks not having laundry in our apartment. Next place I live will have laundry or it’s a no go. Luckily it’s right across the street so I don’t have to go far. But if anyone wants to graciously donate their services I wouldn’t object.

Anna has inspired me to take my running a little more seriously. I’m definitely not a runner by any stretch of the imagination. My first step is a 5K. I might do one next month or one early in January. I’m doing a self check in with the couch to 5k program to see if I feel ready. I’ll let you know how it goes. Any advice?

With the amount of time I haven’t had this past few days many things have fallen to the not done pile. I didn’t plan meals so the kitchen is pretty bare and I’ve gotten SUPER creative this week trying to throw stuff together. Here are a few of my concoctions. We haven’t died of starvation so I guess it’s ok.

sausage mix

 Egg Scramble

Luckily I was saved a little this week because with something I received through the Foodbuzz Tastemaster Program. There is no way to deny that pasta hits the spot some days. I generally use red sauce because it’s not nearly as bad as alfredo and its creamy friends. I’ve tried  a bunch of ‘homemade’ low in calories versions and they never are quite the same. It doesn’t help that Darren HATES red sauce.

pasta front pasta back

A few weeks ago I was selected to try Classico’s new Light Creamy Alfredo. It has  about 50% less fat and a TON less calories than other alfredo sauces. It tastes about as close as you can come without all the fat and calories and went great with my whole wheat penne.  It did have a slightly sweet taste than I remember others having but that might just be my recent sensitivity to sugar.

finished pasta

It’s definitely a suitable substitution but I wouldn’t eat it very often. I love red sauce and pasta but either way pasta isn’t an every day kind of eat. I served it with steamed veggies and a half of a boneless, skinless chicken breast I grilled on the George Foreman.

On another side note – is anyone else already tired of the rain and cold? I know I am, how much longer till spring?

About Jillian

I'm Jillian. A 26-year-old living in San Francisco, CA. Follow me on my road to health, happiness and much more! www.bitesofbalance.com

Posted on November 12, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on A Little Creativity and Running Never Hurt Anyone.

Comments are closed.

