Taco Bowls

There is nothing more delish (to me) than my Mexican food. When I was a kid my mom use to make taco stations where we could create our own tacos. Her taco nights actually used Mexican ingredients, mine don’t really. At all.

I make this all the time in my house because its easy, delicious, and makes great leftovers. Who doesn’t love good leftovers?

I switch up the ingredients depending what I have, but this is what I made last night.

Taco Bowls

Ingredients:

Ground turkey meat

1 can of black beans

1 can of crushed tomatoes (or salsa)

Pearl couscous (I like better than rice)

Avocado

Cheese (I used goat cheese)

Spinach

Light sour cream or Greek yogurt

Directions:

Brown your meat and drain the fat. Drain your black beans + tomatoes and add to the meat pan. Keep the heat on low to simmer for 10-15 minutes. Feel free to add any spices. I didn’t have any on hand that sounded good, so I didn’t.

Cook up your pearl couscous. I use 1:2 ratio for couscous to water. Boil water and add couscous. Cover and simmer for roughly 10-15 minutes or until water is evaporated.

Cut up your avocado and set aside.

Once your meat mixture is nice and saucy and your couscous is done, spoon the meat mixture over a bed of spinach. Top with couscous, avocado, cheese, and sour cream.

Srsly? Where’s my taco.

Robert is a bigger eater than I am, so I made him two large tacos with tortillas.

Other stuff I like to add: Olives, taco seasoning to the meat, cheddar cheese instead of goat, crunchy taco shells..

Posted on November 17, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I am so making this for dinner tonight.

