Broken Glass Isn’t Going to Rain on my Parade…

So after a great workout at the gym I was getting my purse out of my trunk and then this happened.

photo

To say I was sad/mad/angry/pissed/near tears would all be pretty much accurate. I had no one to blame but myself but that didn’t change my raging emotions. Apparently after posting about the unfortunate event I learned I’m not alone. Many friends told me to find someone on craigslist to fix it for 80 or so bucks. That’s WAY cheaper than paying for a new phone or going to Apple to get a replacement since I’m out of warranty now. The phone still works perfectly fine it’s just not pretty to look at.

I didn’t let this ruin my life day for too long and decided to make a delicious dinner. I only made two because that’s how many peppers I bought and I only bought two because Darren hates peppers. These bad boys were all mine and that’s how I like it.

Mexican Style Stuffed Peppers

Serves 2

photo1

Ingredients:

  • 2 Bell Peppers (your color of choice, I chose green)
  • 1 Boneless Skinless Chicken Breast – thawed
  • 2 Cups Salsa
  • 1 Can Black Beans
  • 1/4 – 1/2 a cup of Mexican Blend Shredded Cheese
  • Items for garnishing – Sour Cream, Sliced Avocado, Black Olives, etc.

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Cut top of the peppers off and clear out seeds. I also cut a little off the bottom so mine stood in an upright position.
  3. Put a steamer basket inside a  pot and add an inch or so of water. Place the peppers in the basket. Bring the water to a boil and tightly cover the pot. Steam the peppers for 8 minutes. Remove the peppers with tongs and set them aside.
  4. In another pot boil the chicken breast for about 30 minutes or until cooked through.
  5. Remove chicken and cut into bite size pieces or shred to small pieces. It should shred pretty easy after being boiled.
  6. Place chicken, black beans, and salsa in a pot. Cook for about 5 minutes until beans are warmed.
  7. Take the mixture from #6 and place spoonfuls in the peppers. Fill to the top and sprinkle with cheese.
  8. Place in the oven for 20-30 minutes or until cheese is melted.
  9. Take out and serve with any mixtures you like. I cut one in half and covered in a spoonful of the chicken/bean mixture that was leftover, a little sour cream, fresh avocado and a few black olives.

photo4 photo2

photo3

About Jillian

I'm Jillian. A 26-year-old living in San Francisco, CA. Follow me on my road to health, happiness and much more! www.bitesofbalance.com

Posted on November 21, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Broken Glass Isn’t Going to Rain on my Parade….

Comments are closed.

