Not so Jolly

I’m a pretty honest person when it comes to just about everything. So when you see reviews here know that you are getting my honest opinion. I’m not one to sugar coat things and in no way want to offend people but just can’t say something if I don’t believe it. I also like things the way I like things and often have a hard time getting out of my comfort zone. Generally when I do it is a good experience. But not this time folks.

I got sent a coupon to try a Green Giant Vegetable through the Foodbuzz Tastemaster Program. I’m not a huge frozen veggie person and I never buy them but I can definitely appreciate and easy, no brainer way to get veggies in your diet.  I like fresh veggies and like to cook them in a variety of ways. Those ways do not usually include the microwave. And I never really put much on top of my veggies except maybe garlic, salt, pepper and a little olive oil. Certainly not a cheese blend. So this adventure was a big step out of the norm for me.

photo

I decided to try a big bag of Green Giant Broccoli and Cheese Sauce to accompany my dinner. I stuck the big bag in the microwave for the allotted cooking time. I felt like it was a long time considering I don’t even steam my veggies on the stove top for that long. But since I’m a rule follower I did what I was told.

The bag was SO heavy when I pulled it out. Broccoli doesn’t weight THAT much right? Anyways I busted open the bag to add some to my plate. They weren’t whole pieces of broccoli which I normally like but I can deal with little chunks. In actuality I couldn’t deal with this broccoli at all. I decided to take a bite right out of the bag. I know it’s SO sanitary – NOT.

photo2

To say I wanted to spit it up would be an understatement. I was not into the fake cheese and mushy broccoli. Since I’m a nice person I decided to try again a few minutes later. I wish I hadn’t. These frozen veggies do have pretty good stats and the ingredient list wasn’t the worst I had ever seen. So those were a few bonuses for pluses for this product.

photo1

I’m sure some people would love a product like this. Frozen veggies are cheap and super convenient but they just aren’t for me. I’ll stick to my fresh veggies with no cheesy goo on top. But for those of you out there that struggle with time and/or getting veggies in this may be perfect for you – maybe minus the cheese sauce though.

On another note. I’m running in a Turkey Trot on Thursday. I convinced Darren to do it with me in Redding, CA. It’s only 2 miles but I think it will be fun. I’ll keep you updated on all the craziness that ensues and how Turkey day went.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone! Enjoy the time with family and friends.

About Jillian

I'm Jillian. A 26-year-old living in San Francisco, CA. Follow me on my road to health, happiness and much more! www.bitesofbalance.com

Posted on November 23, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Not so Jolly.

Comments are closed.

