Crockpot Orange Chicken

So I’m not sure if you’ve noticed a trend but I’m so into Crockpot meals this week. My cooking mantra is the easier the better. I like few ingredients, fast, delish and practically cooks itself. That’s not too much to ask for right?

It’s not since I got my Crockpot for Christmas last year from my parents. My mom knows what’s up and hooked it up. Here is a little something I tried this week. Served with steamed broccoli and a little brown rice = easy dinner heaven.

Crockpot Orange Chicken

Serves 4-6

photo1

Ingredients:

  • 5 Boneless skinless chicken breasts – thawed
  • 6 oz frozen concentrated orange juice (try to find pulp free) – thawed
  • 1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 4 tablespoons ketchup
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • Red pepper flakes – to your taste

photo4

Directions:

  1. Fill bowl with the flour.
  2. Cut chicken into bite size pieces and toss in flour for a light coating. Remove any excess flour.
  3. Heat 2 tablespoons of olive oil in a pan.
  4. Place coated chicken pieces in pan. Cook till browned. You don’t have to cook chicken completely – it will cook more in Crockpot.
  5. While chicken is browning place wet ingredients in a bowl and mix. Taste test to make sure it has the right flavor you desire. Some people may like it sweeter (add more brown sugar) and other will want more of a kick (add more pepper flakes).
  6. Once chicken is browned place in a cooking oil sprayed Crockpot.
  7. Pour sauce mixture over chicken and turn Crockpot to appropriate heat for the time you have to cook (i.e. high = 2-3 hours, low = 6-8 hours).
  8. Serve and enjoy.

photo photo2 photo3

About Jillian

I'm Jillian. A 26-year-old living in San Francisco, CA. Follow me on my road to health, happiness and much more! www.bitesofbalance.com

Posted on November 25, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Crockpot Orange Chicken.

Comments are closed.

