Trotting for Turkey

Thanksgiving has come and gone and man what a whirlwind weekend it was. I feel like I drove all over California, ate WAY too much food, didn’t do enough trotting and made some great recipes. We first made the long drive up to Redding where my parents live, did a Sierra Nevada Brewery tour in Chico on Friday after some black Friday shopping, saw Breaking Dawn for a second time with my mom and then drove back down to the Bay Area to visit Darren’s family on Saturday and went with them to cut down a Christmas tree. There were laughs, running, eating, cooking, shopping, eating, touring, eating oh and probably a little more eating. It was a great (and busy) weekend but a great way to celebrate the holiday. How long till my next vacation?

photo photo3

Please ignore the silly looks on my face and the drowned rat look of both of us. It was about 8am and we may or may not have been a little sweaty….

My Thanksgiving day started bright and early. Myself and Darren were registered to do a 2 mile Turkey Trot. We decided to show up closer to race time than we liked. There was absolutely NO parking. I didn’t know this many people lived in the area. We made it to the start line with only minutes to spare. We ran together for maybe about half a mile before Darren needed to stop. He has knee issues and doesn’t want to aggravate them. I waved bye and kept on moving along. I finished about a minute or so faster than what I had been training at which was a nice bonus.

It was cold and misting which I was not a fan of. However, I survived and got my finishers ribbon. Darren finished not too long after me and were both happy we did it. I’ve never run in an organized race, or any race for that matter. Running is relatively new for me. I’ve been using the Couch 2 5k app for a few weeks now and decided I would try the 2 mile run out. I finished and felt great. I definitely think I’ll continue training and signing up for more races. I want to work on the distance I’m able to go then move on to speeding it up.

photo1

We got home and I cooked breakfast while Darren made some coffee. My mom had already cooked and prepped a ton for dinner that night so I graciously offered to cook up something good that would hold us over the rest of the day. Shortly before I left I received 2 coupons for free products from Simply Potatoes through the Foodbuzz Tastemaster Program. I cashed in those bad boys and used one of the products for the meal. It was easy, tasty and didn’t take too long.

I like that the  Simply Potatoes shredded hash browns have very few ingredients, are glutten free and not too terrible for you. Only 70 calories, 0g of fat, 1g protein, and 2g fiber in 1/2 cup serving. I’ve had these a bunch of times and every time I walk away fulfilled and happy with my breakfast choice. These taste great, are easy to make and on the healthier side of the pre-packaged breakfast options. Winner in my book.

photo2

Breakfast Bake

Ingredients:

  • 1 bag shredded Simply Potatoes shredded hash browns
  • 1 bag (8oz) shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1 lb Italian sausage (out of the casing)
  • 10 eggs

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375.
  2. Cook sausage in a pan until cooked through, drain grease.
  3. Spray baking dish with cooking spray to avoid sticking. I used a pretty large baking dish so I need a lot more eggs than would be needed for a smaller dish.
  4. Pour hash browns on bottom of the dish.
  5. Pour cooked sausage on top of the hash browns.
  6. Crack and stir eggs until they are combined (same way you would for scrambled eggs). Pour over the contents of the baking dish.
  7. Sprinkle cheese over top of the mixture – add more for a cheesier effect or less if you like.
  8. Place in oven and bake for about 25-35 minutes. Depends heavily on your oven. My mom’s oven took longer while I’ve tried this at my place and the oven was WAY faster.
  9. Take out and serve warm.
  10. Enjoy!

This was easy and definitely held us over until our 5pm turkey day dinner. We had many things on the table including some wine for the ladies and beer for the guys. It was only my parents, me and Darren since my brother couldn’t make it down.

I was in charge of the dessert and stuffing. The stuffing was delicious and tasted even better the next day. I didn’t try the apple pie but was told it tasted great. I also made a chocolate chip cheesecake which was so good but SO rich and heavy. Look for recipes later this week. I definitely could use a few more turkey trots to work off all the delicious food that was consumed this weekend. I hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving and got to spend it with friends and family. Look for more posts about my whirlwind weekend this week.

Here are a few pictures from our table.

photo5 photo4 photo6

About Jillian

I'm Jillian. A 26-year-old living in San Francisco, CA. Follow me on my road to health, happiness and much more! www.bitesofbalance.com

Posted on November 29, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

