How About a Pie or Two?

Like I promised I’m here to brag show you the two desserts I made for Thanksgiving at my parents house. Consequently, we couldn’t eat all of the cheesecake so we shared some with Darren’s family and had plenty to bring home. By plenty I mean I’m tempted to throw it out but it won’t let me.

My parents like apple pie so I knew I had to make one of those. Truth be told I’m not a HUGE fan of pie unless it is of the pumpkin or chocolate variety. Since Darren is against all things pumpkin I couldn’t rationalize making a pumpkin pie all for myself – believe me I tried. So I opted for a chocolate chip cheesecake. While it’s no pumpkin pie, it was a nice deviation from normal. Don’t worry I got some pumpkin pie thanks to Darren’s mom on Saturday night. Pumpkin for the win!

I think the folks over at Foodbuzz can read my future and saw that I would be in charge of turkey day dessert. Through the Foodbuzz Tastemaster program I received coupons for free Duncan Hines products (and a few to share with friends) and a coupon for free Comstock-Wilderness Fruit Fillings. So after receiving this package I made a beeline for the grocery store after work. I had baking to do folks.

If I’m being honest I’m not the worlds best baker. I have a hard time following all the directions and measuring things out. I much prefer my cooking method of throwing stuff together and seeing what happens. Usually it works for me in cooking but not so in baking. I’ve had many baking disasters and often get anxious about when I have to bake.

This baking adventure was not disastrous but I would definitely do a few things differently to make for better desserts. For one I didn’t REALLY make the apple pie. I got the pre-made pie filling and pre-made pie shells. My only ‘creative’ addition was a sprinkle of brown sugar between the layers of apple filling inside the pie. Here are a few pictures of my baking putting together an apple pie.

photo1 photophoto3photo2

I can’t attest to how this tasted but it was very easy and I got thumbs up from the parents. So I guess that’s a win right? I did like that there weren’t a laundry list of ingredients in the pie filling and that most of them were distinguishable and not some creepy chemicals from a lab.

I did however bake in the sense that I followed a recipe, had to mix ingredients together, and so forth for the cheesecake. I found this recipe on Duncan Hines and decided it was the winner. Of course I consulted Darren since we all know how picky he is. He approved therefore it was set in stone. So here it is in all its glory. Please take a look at my notes below for some things I would change.

Chocolate Chip Cheesecake

photo8

Notes:

  • I didn’t read directions before I decided to make this and realized I didn’t have a spring form pan – mine still worked fine.
  • 3 bricks of cheesecake and the cake crust made enough for 2 whole pie dishes – I put all the cake crust in one pan before realizing this and one of them had no crust. You win some and lose some.
  • You could totally add whatever filling you want and/or sub the crust for something else.

Ingredients:

  • 1 box Duncan Hines® Moist Deluxe® Devil’s Food Cake Mix
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 3 (8 oz) bricks of cream cheese
  • 1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 1 cup light sour cream
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 4 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup semi-sweet mini chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp all-purpose flour

Directions:

photo4photo5photo6

  1. Preheat oven to 350ºF. Spray the bottom of your pie dish with a cooking spray.
  2. Combine cake mix and oil in large bowl. Mix well. Press onto bottom of prepared dish(es). If you are like me and used pie pans instead of a spring form I would suggest divining this in half and putting in two pie dishes. If not you get a REALLY thick layer under the actual cheese cake part.
  3. Bake 20 to 25 minutes or until set. Remove from oven.
  4. Increase oven temperature to 450ºF.
  5. While crust is baking place cream cheese in large mixing bowl. Beat at low speed with electric mixer, adding sugar gradually.
  6. Add sour cream and vanilla extract, mixing until blended. Add eggs, mixing only until incorporated.
  7. Toss 1/2 cup chocolate chips with flour. Fold into cream cheese mixture.
  8. Pour filling onto crust.
  9. Bake 5 to 7 minutes.
  10. Reduce oven temperature to 250ºF. Bake 60 to 65 minutes or until set. Mine took a bit longer than this but I think that was mainly due to my mother’s oven.
  11. Refrigerate until ready to serve.

photo7

This was good but very heavy and rich. This was definitley an indulgent dessert and not something I would eat all the time. The Duncan Hines® Moist Deluxe® Devil’s Food Cake Mix was good but as a crust it left a lot to be desired. I would use something else next time like gingerbread crust, or chocolate graham cracker but not this cake mix. The actual cheesecake part is easy and you can change it up to be a blueberry, pb chip or whatever your heart desires cheesecake.

Now I’m off to the gym to work off those slice(s) of cheesecake and my one lovely piece of pumpkin pie. Treadmill here I come!

About Jillian

I'm Jillian. A 26-year-old living in San Francisco, CA. Follow me on my road to health, happiness and much more! www.bitesofbalance.com

Posted on December 1, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on How About a Pie or Two?.

Comments are closed.

