Walnut Creek 5K

As a part of my half marathon training I decided to sign up for a few races to keep me motivated and on track with my training. This past Saturday I participated in the Walnut Creek 5K (there was also the half and 10K).

The night before the race I got my stuff organized since it was going to be an early morning for us. It’s about a 30 minute drive from SF, so we had to be up around 6AM.

We stopped at Starbucks on the way to grab something warm.

I didn’t realize how cold it was going to be. When we left SF at 6:45 it was 50 degrees outside. It was 32 degrees in WC. I am so happy I brought my North Face fleece. Originally, I was going to wear it up until the race started, but I couldn’t get warm so I ran the whole race wearing it.

My awesome husband who stood out in the 32 degree weather for an hour supporting me. Poor guy, lucky me 🙂 He ended up surprising me at the finish line. Talk about motivation. I sprinted past a few people in the last leg (and I thank Robert for that!)

I ended up finishing in 29:40 with a 9:33 pace. I finished 80/401 overall and 36/270 for the women. For my half marathon training plan they have me training at an 11 min pace, so I am happy with the results.

After the race we went to our favorite little breakfast place called Sunrise Bistro to get some hot tea/coffee and food. I didn’t take any photos, but I got a pot of tea, two poached eggs with tomatoes and toast and Robert got coffee and a breakfast burrito. Yum!

Did anyone else have a race this weekend? How did it go?

Posted on December 13, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Congrats on your race. It was freezing in the bay this weekend.

